The French Review of American Studies - or RFEA (Revue Française d’Etudes Américaines)

The RFEA online (CAIRN), #87 to most recent


RFEA CHARTER (in French)


- The RFEA invites proposals for articles and thematic issues.
Proposals should be sent to Anne-Laure Tissut
(literature) and Hélène Le Dantec-Lowry (civilization)

Thematic issues are guest edited and must be accepted by the editorial board. All papers are subject to anonymous peer review. Papers should not exceed 30.000 signs.

Latest CFP (in French)

[ISSN : 0097-7870. LC CCN : 80-640131]

Since 1976, the AFEA has been publishing a quarterly journal, the Revue Française d’Études Américaines (RFEA), with issues alternatively devoted to literary on one hand, historical, political, and/or cultural themes on the other.

The RFEA also publishes critical reviews of scientific work to be sent to:

  •  Michel Feith for literature, philosophy and esthetics at the following address: Michel Feith 3 allée de Touamotou, 44300 Nantes and to
  •  Ambre Ivol for history, and humanities and esthetics at the following address:
    Ambre Ivol
    4 allée de la Renaudière,
    44300 Nantes
    The RFEA is published by Belin and is accessible on line on CAIRN. The journal welcomes papers in French and English.

    Three anonymous copies of the article (a maximum of 30,000 signs, spaces included) must be submitted. On a separate piece of paper, please indicate the author’s name and address (including phone number and email address).

    Two abstracts---one in English one in French---are to be provided. To assure accurate and useful indexing, authors are requested to provide a list of up to 10 key-words in both languages.

    Typed manuscripts must respect RFEA norms, particularly regarding footnotes and references (MLA standards for articles written in English, and Imprimerie nationale standards for those written in French).

    Please see our GUIDELINES


    Isabelle Alfandary (Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3), President of the AFEA.


    Anne-Laure Tissut (Rouen) for literature Hélène Le Dantec-Lowry (Paris 3) for civilization.


  •  Anne-Laure Tissut (Rouen)
  •  Hélène Le Dantec-Lowry (Paris 3)
  •  Anne Battesti (Paris Ouest)
  •  Andrew Dimaond (Paris-Sorbonne)
  •  Claire Delahaye (Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée)
  •  Michel Feith (Nantes)
  •  Laura Hobson-Faure (Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3)
  •  Anne Hurault-Paupe (Paris 13 Nord)
  •  Ambre Ivol (Nantes)
  •  Anne-Claire Le Reste (Paris Ouest)
  •  Carine Lounissi (Rouen)
  •  Jagna Oltarzewska (Sorbonne Paris 4)
  •  Françoise Palleau (Paris 13 Nord)
  •  François Specq (ENS Lyon)
  •  Anne-Laure Tissut (Rouen)


  •  Rick Altman (U. of Iowa)
  •  Klaus Benesch (Munich)
  •  Hester Blum (Penn State)
  •  Wendy Brown (Berkeley)
  •  Elsa Dorlin (Paris 1)
  •  Eric Fassin (ENS)
  •  Cristina Giorcelli (Roma 3)
  •  Sherrill E. Grace (U. of British Columbia)
  •  David Hall (Harvard U.)
  •  Heinz Ickstadt (Freie Universität Berlin)
  •  Rob Kroes (Amsterdam)
  •  Deborah Madsen (Genève)
  •  Rosella Mamoli Zorzi (Università Ca’ Foscari di Venezia)
  •  Peter C. Mancall, (U. of Southern California)
  •  Lary May (U. of Minnesota)
  •  Kevin McLaughlin (Brown U.)
  •  Cristanne Miller (U. at Buffalo)
  •  Peter Nicholls (NYU)
  •  Marjorie Perloff (Stanford U.)
  •  Thomas Sugrue (New York U.)
  •  Philip Weinstein (Swarthmore College

    5, rue de l’Ecole de médecine
    F-75006 Paris